Raymond Mhlaba National Heritage Rugby Tournament

Read time: 1 min

Raymond Mhlaba Municipality in partnership with the Raymond Mhlaba Sport Council and University of Fort Hare will be hosting its annual National Heritage Rugby Tournament at the University of Fort Hare’s Davidson Stadium from Friday 22 – 25 September.


The event will see a feast of rugby action where various teams from around the municipal jurisdiction, Port Elizabeth, Ginsburg, North West province and others battling it out for the top spot in the tournament. The tournament has been split into two pools; where local teams will play against each other in Pool B and those from outside Raymond Mhlaba will be in Pool A.


Rugby clubs, African Bombers, Matlosana Academy, Zwide United are just some of the team’s leading a powerful group of clubs that have already confirmed their participation in the tournament. If quality of the teams is anything to go by, this year’s edition is going to be both tough and entertaining. Among the teams to be part of the tournament are: Ginsburg Rugby Club, Siyakhula Youth Rugby( Uitenhage), Matlosana Academy (Rustenburg), Star of Hope (Uitenhage), Ginsburg Rugby Club, Zwide United (Port Elizabeth) and others. In a twist of events, this year will see the Fort Beaufort Springrose which usually played in Pool B battling it out with the Pool A teams gunning for the big prize.


This year’s Pool A will go away with R40 000 whilst Pool B will be getting R20 000. In line with developing and unearthing rugby talent, for the first time the South African Rugby Union will be scouting for talent in the tournament. For more information contact Cynthia Mokitimi, Acting Manager Communications on 083 407 8446/ cmokitimi@raymondmhlaba.gov.za/ cmokitimi@gmail.com


Heritage Rugby FIXTURES LIST

Article Courtesy of Grocott's Mail