Faculty of Education scooped the most at the VC awards

Read time: 1 min

Faculty of Education scooped the most accolades in different categories at the annual UFH Vice Chancellor’s awards held on the 26th of October 2017.  The Vice Chancellor’s awards honours individuals for their achieved excellence in research, teaching and community engagement for both the emerging and senior researcher categories. The focus was not only on academics but to students who performed exceptionally well across faculties for the 2017 academic year.


Vice Chancellor of the University of Fort Hare, was unparalleled when he spoke truthfully and genuinely, exuding passion of what the institution stands for and how the awardees have contributed to the growth of the university. “It’s very important to say that we are here to celebrate achievements, let’s celebrate hard”.


The individuals who were to be celebrated showed signs of consistency in their faculties, at times exceeding the expectation and the only way they could be celebrated was to be acknowledged as ‘it doesn’t take much to make academics content except to acknowledge them and celebrate their hard work’, this being aligned to the core values of the university, alluded the VC.


The VC was unapologetic about the state of the university in the past ten months and how those events were conveyed in the media, picture painted of doom and gloom but he hoped that in the future that the culture of impunity should be rooted out so as to convey a much positive image of the institution.


Singing praises to students who had done exceptional in their field of studies, he said, “all the goings on could distract and have distracted us for a long time .don’t forget that you are here to learn, earn a qualification and go and perform at public services and serve your society, Never forgetting the core business of the institution “that we are here to do research and teaching”


Deputy Vice Chancellor for academic affairs, Professor Larry Obi concluded “What we overcome are mistakes which accumulate to experiences resulting in success. In-between there are failures but we are here to celebrate the successes”.


Students who received the awards:

Gladys Diposa

Farai Majoni

Gara Selna



Ms  Nonzukiso Tyilo-Faculty of Education

Mrs Thobeka Matshoba-Faculty of Education

Dr Namhla Sotuku-Faculty of Education

Prof Emmanuel Adu-Faculty of Education

Mr Phumezo Kwinana-Faculty of Science and Agriculture

Mr Nduduzo Makhathini-Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities

Prof Werner Nel- Faculty of Science and Agriculture

Prof Abbyssinia Mushunje-Faculty of Science and Agriculture

Prof Willie Chinyamurindi-Faculty of Management and Commerce

Dr Forget Kapingura-Faculty of Management and Commerce

Ms Gail Young-Faculty of Management and Commerce

Mr Actor Katurura-Faculty of Law

Prof Patrick Osode- Faculty of Law

Prof Olunyika Osunkunle-Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities

Mr Festus Khayundi- Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities